Episode 23, Geeking with Dinosaurs


In this belated episode we find out why we’re recording late (again) (sorry), as Richard S recounts his geek trip to walk with life-sized dinosaurs up in Auckland.

Richard F tells a sob story of system recovery and why not to attempt this at 11.30 in the evening. We wonder why Nokia are bringing their shiny new N9 to life since they’re giving up on MeeGo and going with WinPho. Smart internet-connected TVs: why?

We talk about an awesome PC casing recently seen at a local Geek store — Antec’s attempt to out-Apple in the industrial design and marketing game. Awesome.

Richard S does an impromptu book review based on Richard F’s geek library.

Download Episode 23: Geeking with Dinosaurs

    • Bob
    • July 31st, 2011

    To Ricardo S:

    Listening to MoG is a great way for me to tune out of the laborious ironing that I do on occasion. Becs (my wife) was in tears listening to you questioning Richard F as to whether I ironed naked! What a hoot!

    The answer is a definite “No” – it’s far too cold in the laundry!

    Also, my podcast playbacks run on a Squeezebox Boom – I actually have 3 of them scattered around the house, and they work wonderfully when listening to my iTunes library, as well as local and international radio (although I admit the buffer size could be bigger on occasion).

    Keep up the good work and humour, guys.

    Bob

    • Cameron (Al Capacino)
    • August 25th, 2011

    Ok chaps, you guys obviously don’t know anything about WP7 (Windows phone 7) so, I am a phone salesman (Computer Tech) at Telstra in WA, and I have a HTC Mozart… It is really good πŸ™‚ but if you want a review on Windows Phone 7, let me know πŸ™‚ I would be happy to assist and write one for you πŸ™‚

    • Hi Cameron,

      Thanks for listening and the offer. If you want to write us a brief summary of your views on the HTC Mozart WinPho 7 phone, then feel free to email it to us (or post it as a comment). I’ve been pretty impressed with the 5 minutes spent playing around with a WP7 handset (can’t remember which model) in a Telcom store and thought it was really fresh and unique — actually, I could see myself using one of these if it had a richer app ecosystem and the hardware had the industrial design of…Apple!

      Cheers,
      Richard F

      The Ministry of Geek

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

